My two-tone merino scarf experiment

In Wellington, the wind can mean that you need a thick wide scarf to snuggle into while you’re walking around. I couldn’t find one that was wide enough, so I decided to make my own.

You can buy infinity scarves, but they aren’t cheap (around $40-60). I made one by watching this ‘how-to’ video. I spent a grand total of $21 getting my merino in the Global Fabrics sale.

For this super simple project, you need:

  • fabric that you love, length 24 inches, width 54-60 inches (stretch is what I used)
  • measuring tape
  • good pair of scissors
  • thread
  • a sewing needle
  • of course, your sewing machine.

Here’s how mine turned out. For mine, it was a variation on the video tutorial. Basically instead of folding over the same piece of merino, I cut out two wide pieces in different colours. I then followed the basic instructions on the video.

Try it out and see how easy it is!

Merino scarf

Leave a Reply

