Made my first skirt thanks to the Fashion Workshop

I’m so pleased my friend asked me if I’d be keen to do a bag making sewing class a few months ago. Because after progressing from that, we decided we were ready for the skirt making ‘not your nana’s sewing class’ at Wellington’s Fashion Workshop.

I was super excited to find a NZ made pattern for my skirt from Papercut Patterns. Really cute packaging and pretty easy to follow. They are based in Nelson, NZ and have a modern take on patterns. Here’s the pattern of the skirt I made.

As I am a total rookie, it was great that our tutor Jenny from the Fashion Workshop was really helpful and patient. Questions like ‘umm how do I thread the machine?’ were allowed. No question was too stupid and the class was nice and small.

I finished the skirt during the once a week (for 3 weeks) 3 hour sessions after work. Using mum’s hardly used dream machine Bernina was a bonus and created a nice smooth finish. I reckon it might need tweaking and taking in a little bit, but I was so excited to get some use out of it that had to wear it to work (pic below – skirt made from 100% wool bought at Global Fabrics Wellington).

I fully recommend this sewing course and I know my friend and I will definitely be getting along to another one.

Check out patterns at Papercut Patterns

Find out about sewing classes at the FashionWorkshop

Wearing my first made skirt

2 thoughts on “Made my first skirt thanks to the Fashion Workshop

Leave a Reply

